Multi-Party National Convention makes solid progress towards a pre-election agreement

Issued by John Steenhuisen MP – Leader of the Democratic Alliance
16 Aug 2023 in News

Please find attached a joint press statement by the DA, IFP, FF Plus, ActionSA, ISANCO, UIM and SNP.

The political parties involved in negotiating a pre-election agreement to inaugurate a new government

following next year’s election have, under the guidance of independent Chairperson William Gumede,

made solid progress on the first day of talks. Deliberations have been robust yet constructive, and we

are pleased to announce the following.

We have agreed that the name of our pre-election agreement will be the Multi-Party Charter for South


We have agreed that our Shared Vision for South Africa will be: A new government to build a just,

inclusive and prosperous South Africa based on opportunity, freedom and security for all its citizens.

We have agreed that the priorities of this new coalition government will be:

1. Growing the economy and creating jobs.

2. Ending loadshedding and achieving energy security.

3. Achieving law and order that combats crime, corruption and drugs.

4. Ensuring quality education that delivers opportunities for all.

5. Delivering basic services to all through high quality infrastructure.

6. Building a professional public service that delivers to all and ending cadre deployment.

7. Ensuring quality healthcare for all within a caring healthcare system.

8. Building a social relief framework for South African households living in poverty. Central to achieving the Vision and Priorities of our new government, is the need to ensure that governance is underpinned by an ethos that seeks to promote South Africa’s long-term best interest.

As such, we have agreed that our new coalition government will govern in accordance with our Shared

Governing Principles, which are a commitment to:

1. The South African Constitution, the rule of law, and equality before the law.

2. Decentralising power to the lowest effective level of government.

3. Accountable, transparent government with zero tolerance for corruption.

4. Capable government that spends public money efficiently to deliver quality services to all.

5. Caring government that puts people first and prioritises the poor.

6. An open market economy.

7. Policies guided by evidence that they produce positive results for society.

8. Redress our unjust past by promoting nonracialism and unity in our diversity.

We have furthermore resolved to extend invitations to all political parties in South Africa that subscribe

to our vision, priorities of government, shared governing principles and the pre-requisite to unseat the

ANC and keep the EFF out. All political parties that subscribe and act according to these principles are

requested to come forward and engage in future talks to join the Multi-Party Charter for South Africa.

Media enquiries:

DA: Charity McCord, Media Officer to the DA Federal Leader 078 126 2765

IFP: Megan Dick, Office of the IFP President 082 432 1335

FF Plus: Pieter Swart, Media Officer for the FF Plus 065 801 7216

ActionSA: Sam Mgobozi, Communications Director for ActionSA 078 231 5977

ISANCO: Nceba Matomane, Media Officer for ISANCO 0614726507

UIM: Virginia Young, Media Liaison for UIM 064 283 6781

SNP: Winston Coetzee, Chief Whip for the SNP 082 228 3523

Prof Gumede: Zamayirha Peter 079 692 7931

Be part of the mission to rescue South Africa, get help registering to vote at