Hessequa Local Municipality is one of the top three best-run municipalities in the country according to the 2016 Government Performance Index.

DA-led Hessequa works hard to be a caring municipality where all residents benefit from cost effective and innovative service delivery, a growing economy where there are job opportunities, and one that uses natural resources sustainably. Hessequa is investing millions of rands in building quality homes for residents who live in informal settlements, focusing on quality electricity and sewerage systems.

Hessequa Success Stories

Three clean audits in a row

“We want to bring housing, electricity and sewerage systems to poor communities. We have already upgraded the Riversdale and Heidelberg sewerage stations and brought services to homes in Melkhoutfontein and Heidelberg.”

In December, 113 residents received new homes. About 100 more homes will be built in Melkhoutfontein.

The Municipality repaired the flood damage to roads and infrastructure in Albertinia, Riversdale, Heidelberg and Melkhoutfontein.

We have a new fire engine. 

To help all residents access resources on the internet, e-centres were launched in Riversdale, Heidelberg and Slangrivier.

DA Mayor Grant Riddles and his team joined community members in a clean-up campaign to attract tourists to Hessequa.

“Since the DA took over, change is coming quickly with housing, electricity and title deeds.” – Sophia Adams, Melkhoutfontein

First solar powered desalination plant launched in Hessequa Municipality, with support from the French.

Meet the Mayor & Mayoral Commitee

Grant Riddles

Executive Mayor

Executive Mayor Grant Riddles was born on 24 October 1981, in Riversdale. He grew up in Melkhoutfontein, a suburban town 7km’s from Still Bay and he and his wife now live in Still Bay with their two children.

Gerald Boezak

Community Services, Housing and Social Services

Hendrik Saayman

Housing, Tourism and LED

Ben Smith

Finance, Corporate Services and HR

Andrew Stroebel

Liquor License Tribunal Member; Chairperson Appeal Committee